Community Foundation accepting scholarship applications

MINNEAPOLIS, Kan.— The Ottawa County Community Foundation is now accepting scholarship applications for the 2024-2025 school year. The Foundation manages one local scholarship available to area students:

  • John and Olive L. Cornellisson Scholarship, for graduating high school seniors of USD 239 or USD 240 who are pursuing further education in the areas of agriculture or vocational training. Past recipients may apply as part of the total applicant pool.

Students may also be eligible for the following scholarships available through our host Foundation, the Greater Salina Community Foundation or its other regional affiliates.

  • Alma Olson & Michael T. Olson Scholarship, for students attending or planning to attend North Central Kansas Technical College (Beloit or Hays campus) pursuing a building trade degree.
  • Cloud Ceramics Masonry Scholarship, for students attending a post-secondary masonry or building trades program at a Vo-Tech, Technical College or Community College
  • Coyne Family Scholarship, for first-generation college students whose parents are immigrants
  • David A. and M. Marguerite Parker Scholarship, for graduating Tescott High School seniors in the top five of their class attending a 2-year or 4-year post secondary program.
  • Donald A. Smischny Educator Scholarship, for Kansas high school seniors, students enrolled in undergraduate or graduate programs, or current professionals pursuing a teaching career at USD 327 in Ellsworth, Kansas.
  • First Bank Kansas Scholarship, for Kansas Wesleyan University students pursuing a business degree
  • Francis E. Curtis NAACP Scholarship, for graduating high school seniors or a graduate from a high school located in Dickinson, Ottawa or Saline Counties, with ties to NAACP-Salina.
  • Hale Family Sunflower Promise Scholarship, for graduating community college students planning to attend a 4-year post-secondary institution in Kansas.
  • Jody & Doyle Fredrickson Nursing & Health Scholarship, for graduating seniors or graduates from a high school in the Dane G. Hansen Foundation service area who are pursuing a major in nursing or another health related field.
  • Kansas Federation of Republican Women Scholarship, for any Kansas registered Republican female college student entering at least her junior year or that is attending graduate school at a Kansas college or university with a declared major of Political Science, History, Public Administration, Healthcare, Law or Education.
  • Kurt Budke Scholarship, for students entering their sophomore year or above in college who plan on attending Louisiana Tech University, Oklahoma State University, Washburn University, or Wichita State University.
  • Mary Olson & Viola Olson Gustafson Scholarship, for students attending or planning to attend Cloud County Community College, Concordia, KS, to obtain a degree in nursing or a related medical field
  • Orpha J. & Ernest Milbradt Scholarship, for any Kansas graduating high school senior attending Kansas State University or the University of Kansas

All scholarship applications must be submitted through the foundation’s online scholarship portal by February 15, 2024. Scholarships will be awarded by mid-April. The application portal and scholarship guidelines can be found at

For more information on scholarships, please contact Natalie Wood, Affiliate Relations and Grants Coordinator, at 785-823-1800.